Committee of Adjustment

The Committee of Adjustment is an independent body appointed by Council, under authority granted by the Province of Ontario. The Committee of Adjustment is composed of three members of the public, who are appointed by The Blue Mountains Council.

The Blue Mountains Committee of Adjustment has authority under the Planning Act to grant minor variances from the zoning by-law and fence by-law; and other associated powers under Section 45(2) of the Planning Act with extensions and similar/compatible uses to non-conforming uses, and conformity of uses that are defined in general terms.


The members of the Committee of Adjustment are:

David Morgan, Member
Robert B. Waind, Member
Bill Remus, Member

What you Need to Know About Applying for a Minor Variance


For more information on the Committee of Adjustment and how to apply for a minor variance, please contact:

Lori Carscadden, Secretary/Treasurer
Committee of Adjustment
32 Mill Street
Thornbury, ON  N0H 2P0
Tel:  519-599-3131, ext. 263
Toll Free:  1-888-258-6867
Fax:  519-599-7723