

# Grey County Joint Accessibility Advisory Committee

#### Purpose:

To comply with ODA and AODA legislation and to provide recommendations to Grey County Council participating local municipal councils, regarding accessibility-related issues and improvements to services.

Participating local municipalities include: The Township of Georgian Bluffs, The Municipality of Grey Highlands, The Town of Hanover, The Township of Southgate, The Town of The Blue Mountains, and The Municipality of West Grey

#### Scope of Responsibility:

- a) Advise councils each year about the preparation, implementation and effectiveness of each municipality's multi-year accessibility plan.
- b) Provide advice when requested by Council on the accessibility for persons with disabilities to a building, structure or premises:
  - a. Purchased, constructed, majorly renovated, owned or operated by Grey County and participating municipalities;
  - b. Considered for lease;
  - c. Provided as a municipal capital facility under an agreement, in accordance with the *Municipal Act*.
- c) Review in a timely manner the site plans and drawings described under Section41 of the *Planning Act* when requested.
- d) In response to circulated plans, the Committee will review and provide timely comment to the appropriate council, or its designates, on site plans prepared for major renovations and newly constructed developments including new commercial, institutional, industrial, major residential and other development subject to site plan control under a participating municipality.
- e) Perform other functions required by the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA) and its regulations.
- f) Reviewing programs and services and provided accessibility advice to make practices more inclusive.

## Voting Membership

The Grey County Joint Accessibility Advisory Committee will consist of up to seven members. Membership will include

a) The majority of voting members must be persons with disabilities, as defined

under the AODA;

- b) A caregiver of a person with a disability;
- c) A public advocate for people with disabilities with a high degree of accessibility knowledge.
- d) One representative from Grey County Council

Members will be appointed by County Council for the term of council and members are eligible for re-appointment.

# Non-Voting Members

The Grey County Joint Accessibility Advisory Committee's non-voting members will consist of:

- a) One staff resource from each participating local municipality
- b) Grey County staff responsible for accessibility

## Chair and Vice Chair:

The Chair and Vice Chair shall be elected from the voting membership annually.

#### Meetings:

Meetings will occur at the call of the Chair, or as determined by the committee (approximately four times per year).

## Quorum:

A quorum shall consist of more than 50% of the membership of the Committee.

## Compensation:

Public voting members will be reimbursed mileage or other similar travel costs.

## Statutory Authority:

Ontarians with Disabilities Act (ODA) Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA) Grey County Procedural By-Law Local Municipal Procedural By-Laws

## **Reporting Relationship:**

The Accessibility Advisory Committee will report to Grey County Committee of the Whole and meeting minutes will be circulated with the participating local municipalities.

## Lead Staff:

Grey County Administrative & Accessibility Coordinator Designated liaison for each local municipality Grey County Clerk Grey County Deputy Clerk/Legislative Coordinator