Committee of Adjustment

The Committee of Adjustment is an independent body appointed by Council, under authority granted by the Province of Ontario. The Committee of Adjustment is composed of five members of the public, who are appointed by Town Council.

Agendas, Minutes & Reports

Please visit the Agendas, Minutes and Reports page to view meeting information and documents.

Committee of Adjustment Information

The Town's Committee of Adjustment has authority under the Planning Act to grant minor variances from the Zoning By-law, Sign By-law, Fence By-law as well as Severances (Consents); and other associated powers under Section 45(2) of the Planning Act with extensions and similar/compatible uses to non-conforming uses, and conformity of uses that are defined in general terms.

The Committee of Adjustment follows By-law 2004-67 as their Terms of Reference.

The Committee of Adjustment convenes public hearings normally the third Wednesday of each month. These dates are posted on the Council Calendar and available here: 2022 Committee of Adjustment Schedule

On February 20, 2019 Council adopted a Procedural By-law pertaining to the Committee of Adjustment, being By-law 2019-5.

Sign By-law Review Committee

The former Sign By-law Review Committee responsibilities are now assumed by the Committee of Adjustment and decisions are formalized by Council. 

Public Members
Robert B. Waind
Bill Remus
Peter Franklyn
Jim Oliver
Contact information
Council Representatives