The Blue Mountains Council Sworn In for New Term

Members of 2022-2026 Town Council
Press Releases

At the Inaugural Council Meeting held earlier today, Mayor Andrea Matrosovs, Deputy Mayor Peter Bordignon and Councillors Gail Ardiel, Paula Hope, Alex Maxwell, Shawn McKinlay, and June Porter completed the Oath of Office and were sworn in for the 2022 – 2026 Council term by Town Clerk Corrina Giles.

“I am excited to work with my colleagues on Council, members of the public and Town staff to continue the great momentum that has been built over the past four years”, explained Mayor Andrea Matrosovs. “As a community, we have worked together to address issues, overcome challenges and to seize opportunities. The foundation has been established through the creation of various strategies, plans and policies, and I am looking forward to our continued and collective effort to strengthen our community, and to make The Blue Mountains the best that it can be.”

Following the inauguration, Members of Council are scheduled to participate in orientation and onboarding sessions with the Town and Grey County. The sessions will cover various topics related to governance and meeting procedures, as well as introductions and overviews provided by each Town department related to key priorities, current issues, and ongoing and planned projects

“On behalf of Town Staff, I would like to welcome and congratulate the new term of Council,” said Chief Administrative Officer, Shawn Everitt. “We’re excited and committed to working together on a variety of important initiatives to continue to strengthen The Blue Mountains community.”

A recording of the Inaugural Meeting is available online. The next regularly scheduled Council meeting is next Monday, November 28, 2022, at 9:00 a.m.

For more information, contact:
Shawn Everitt
Chief Administrative Officer
519-599-3131 ext. 234